Tropic of Cancer Passes Through Which States of India?

Tropic of Cancer divides India in almost two halves i.e. North and South India. It passes through 8 states of India. The names of these states are as following from West to East.

Fig.1: Tropic of Cancer through India (Source: NCERT)
  1. Gujarat
  2. Rajasthan
  3. Madhya Pradesh
  4. Chhattisgarh
  5. Jharkhand
  6. West Bengal
  7. Tripura
  8. Mizoram

Important Facts About Tropic of Cancer

  • It is at 23 1/2 degree latitude north of Equator.
  • It is the northern boundary of tropical climatic zone.
  • The climate in this zone always remain warm and humid.
  • There is no winter season in this zone.
  • The rays of sun is never vertical over the head north of this latitude.
  • The sun rays are perpendicular at tropic of cancer on 21st June each year. This is also the largest day of the year.
  • After 21st June, the sun starts to travel back towards tropic of Capricorn. This leads to slow retreat of Monsoon and summer.

Also read, Equator Passes Through Which Countries?